Ikea Hemnes Dresser Revamped!

If you saw this image on Facebook earlier. Here’s the post as promised!

So I recently bought the Ikea Hemnes 8-drawer dresser last weekend during Labor Day weekend. I’ve tracked this one for a while, when I changed my address Ikea sent me a $50 off coupon and I was determined get the most out of it!

As I started putting it together (best part about Ikea they make you work for your purchase) I realized the drawers were ugly! (See below…) And it inspired me to change it.

BEFORE:

AFTER:

Like? Here’s how I did it.

It took me a while to decide, but since my latest obsession is grey/silver I went with nickel — great decision!

It only took two cans of the white to cover the – God awful – yellow stripes on all eight. It took about 4 hours to dry completely.

Next I taped off the stripes – I thought about doing Chevron stripes which would have looked amazing, but it literally look forever just to line up two. So I scraped that idea and went with horizontal stripes.

     

I love it! Check it out in the drawer…

It took me all weekend, four bottles of spray paint and enormous patience, but I finished it!

What do you think?

